The Student Room Group

How do I balance out my A-levels?

I am currently studying Biology, Chemistry and Psychology. I am aiming for A*’s, but I’m finding it hard to balance out my subjects and I’m basically neglecting psychology. I’m in year 13 so I also need to keep up on AS content. Is there any advice for balancing out three subjects and getting good grades in all of them? Thanks for the help :smile:
When you study outside of school, do you find you spend more time on Biology and Chemistry then Psychology? How much study do you do after school?

I would suggest making a study timetable to make sure you get more time to study Psychology. You can arrange your free time into blocks, and then divide those blocks to make sure you get equal time for each subject. Some weeks you might find you need to devote more time for one subject (such as homework or assignments) but generally try to balance your time. If there are weeks where there are less assignments, you could spend some time revising what you have learnt and identifying areas you struggle with to target for improvement. Make sure your notes are organised and coherent.
Reply 2
Don't put too much stress on keeping up with everything from AS, A2 is basically just building on that knowledge and remember it's application so don't try to memorise all the tiny little details, that's what I tried to do and it didn't help me in the exams. I would recommend trying to go over each lesson at the end of the day for each of your subjects and making some notes it will help to keep you on top of it, hope that helps :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by georgelagalle
I am currently studying Biology, Chemistry and Psychology. I am aiming for A*’s, but I’m finding it hard to balance out my subjects and I’m basically neglecting psychology. I’m in year 13 so I also need to keep up on AS content. Is there any advice for balancing out three subjects and getting good grades in all of them? Thanks for the help :smile: