The Student Room Group

subject selection for GCSE

hello, i will be giving my GCSE's in 2019. My problem here is that I have only taken 7 subjects, do you all think its appropriate or will cause problems in future? Thank you.
Original post by abstractly01
hello, i will be giving my GCSE's in 2019. My problem here is that I have only taken 7 subjects, do you all think its appropriate or will cause problems in future? Thank you.

Seven subjects isn't a problem. Which seven are you doing?
i am studying the following subjects:
english language
economics
business studies
accounts
hindi (second language)
maths (extended)
ICT (computers)
Original post by TheMindGarage
Seven subjects isn't a problem. Which seven are you doing?
english language
economics
business studies
accounts
hindi (second language)
maths (extended)
ICT (computers)

No science? I thought it's compulsory.
english language
economics
business studies
accounts
hindi (second language)
maths (extended)
ICT (computers)

You may need sciences depending on what you would like to do at A Level, however you could do double sciences/combined sciences instead if you're worried about the workload.
Original post by JennLousie
You may need sciences depending on what you would like to do at A Level, however you could do double sciences/combined sciences instead if you're worried about the workload.

Oh! i see. I think i will take combined science into consideration. Thank you!
Original post by TheMindGarage
No science? I thought it's compulsory.

Actually, our school never made science mandatory ( I stay in India) hence, i didn't take the subject. But i think I might. Is it necessary to take all three?
Actually, our school never made science mandatory ( I stay in India) hence, i didn't take the subject. But i think I might. Is it necessary to take all three?

You can do double science which includes a Core Science and an Additional Science GCSE. That's what the majority of people in the UK do.