Kolan123
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
When I am writing my responses my teacher has told me that I have really good ideas and themes but I am conveying them in really simple way that might not be as effective to get a high grade, so my question is what are some good big words that will really impress the reader. I have already started reading difficult books but I also want to expand my vocab in another way. The words have to link to:war, poetry,conflcit, guilt, ambition, fate, mystery. And the books I'm studying are sign of four, Macbeth and an inspector calls.
amberfox264
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
juxtaposition - two things with contrasting effect, placed together or seen together
Sentence example- (In my poem comparison, I wrote about how the structure of Storm On The Island- which could represent Ireland's oneness as it is in one stanza- is different from the meaning of the poem- the poem is about the fighting in Ireland. I wrote...) "The singular stanza is juxtaposed against the true meaning of the poem"

connotation - the connotation of a word is what you generally think about when you think about a certain word. Certain words in books or poems are used because they have specific connotations, so they put ideas in the reader's mind. For example "dawn has connotations of hope and new beginnings" or "the sun has connotations of happiness" or "the colour black has negative connotations"

hyperbole- a hyperbole is just an exaggeration. If you were writing about the phrase "a million memories playing over in my head", instead of writing the writer exaggerates the amount of memories he has, you could write the writer uses a hyperbole to exaggerate how many memories he has or something like that.

I can't think of any more at the moment but if I think of any then I will tell you! Or if there is a word that you want to use but you don't know how to use it in a sentence, I could try and help, but I might not know either haha
Kolan123