kelly-grace
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi Guys,

So I am currently studying an access to health course which includes A level sociology. I have just started my first unit of sociology and am really confused to the Gabb and Fink study "Telling moments and everyday experiance". I am supposed to porduce and essay answering the question "can there be a sociology of love?".

Trouble is I am really struggling to understand the Gabb and Fink. Has anybody done this study before? If so, can anybody help with breaking it down into "Simple" wording?

I just seem to be going over and over it. and getting no where.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance! x
ChefWhoSlims
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I don't know if you have completed this but basically, you need to look at the PDF of enduring love by Gabb and fink and read through. Their study is basically a sociological view of relationships, how they are formed, what makes people feel overwhelmingly attached to each other. That kind of thing. The whole idea is that it is YOUR view on whether or not there can be a sociology of love.

The idea is that you read through the study and you use what you have read to create the essay one of the quotes i used in the essay was

“emotions are embedded in social relations and that moment can be identified as emotional scenarios’’ (Gabb and Fink 2015).
I then went on to say about how emotional scenarios in everyday lives give us a better view of what love is and how it is formed e.g if a married man does the washing up so his wife can have some time to herself. The wife appreciates the gesture and has feelings of happiness (blah blah blah)

Don't know if that helps?
Minniehaha84
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I am so confused on this assignment its driving me up the bend xx
kelly-grace
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
(Original post by Minniehaha84)
I am so confused on this assignment its driving me up the bend xx