The Student Room Group

Residency requirement

I'm an EU national, but have been living in the USA for the past year (temporarily, with the main purpose of studying). I hold an offer for Master's programme in England for 2018/19. I wanted to ask whether it's possible to consult my eligibility before the applications open up in the summer?

Thank you

Marta
Original post by puczi1234
I'm an EU national, but have been living in the USA for the past year (temporarily, with the main purpose of studying). I hold an offer for Master's programme in England for 2018/19. I wanted to ask whether it's possible to consult my eligibility before the applications open up in the summer?

Thank you

Marta

Temporary absence doesn't change your ordinary residence. If you were resident in the EU before the temporary move to USA then that will still count as your residence.

Thank you

Marta

Hi puczi1234,

Depending on your circumstances you may be eligible to apply for Student Support if you have been outside the EU/EEA on a temporary break. You will be required to provide evidence of your temporary break regardless of the length of time they were temporary absent for.
What could be classed as a temporary break?

β€’

Gap Year

β€’

Holiday

β€’

Voluntary Work overseas

β€’

Working for HM Armed Forces

β€’

Parents working abroad on a temporary contact of employment

What would not be classed as a temporary break?

β€’

People who emigrate to another country outside of EEA/Switzerland

β€’

People who are unable to satisfy SFE that their break was of a temporary nature

β€’

People who have exercised their right to roam elsewhere in the EU/EEA and will be ordinarily resident in the UK on the first day of their course

If break in residency was due to student/parents active service in the armed forces they are still considered to be resident in the UK Acceptable Evidence

β€’

A letter from HEI confirming gap year

β€’