Uni right now... Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Ok here goes. I'm in my 1st year of uni. I moved away from home which is quite far away from the UK. I've just started 2nd term and am having exams. One went very well, the other not well, the last one is this week. Now, apart from exams I am feeling really bad, psychologically speaking. I know there are TONS of these threads but I have really reached my limit. I just do not like being here. I miss my parents beyond any point I thought I would and really want to be home or travelling or doing a placement.

I have a very low self esteem and quite low confidence in what I do too. I suppose what I'm saying is, I don't feel ready for being where I am right now, at uni. I would love to take a year out and just explore. Travel a bit, be home a bit, and all that, after my first year.

I really feel like I can't handle this just yet. It's not a question about more socializing or joining societies, as I do both. It's a genuine feeling of missing my parents and the comforts of home.

Now I realise that you are probably thinking (as do I) that we all need to mature and get on with life and that uni is part of that. Very true. Yet I feel like a year out to just get to know what I like, and explore who I am would really be beneficial.

However, I do noit know how to explain this to my parents nor my university. It's gotten to a point where I just want out. I'll come back (its not a hell hole here) and I'll be off campus in terms of accommodation so that will be nice. But for now, I just want to get away a bit find what I want in life, so I fel a greater purpose, pride, and motivation in being at university.
Bear_Grylls
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
(Original post by death.drop)

one email that said :
mum i'm dropping out of uni because i slept with some guy. Shane broke up with me and i found out i'm pregnant. i'm so sorry. I hope you'll forgive me. (or along those lines)