The Student Room Group

Advanced Higher maths - am I dumb?

hello,

doing AH maths this year and I do find it genuinely interesting. I got a B in my higher which was dissapointing so I figured I'd properly stick in this year and get a good grade for AH, but...

at the start of the course I was struggling, so behind everyone else, didn't know what was going on essentially. but I picked myself up, studied hard for our tracking assessment and unit 1 test and I got a decent percentage in both, one of the highest in the class, and I passed the unit test with flying colours and then some.

this was with other people in my class who got straight A's in their highers getting around 50%-60%! I was very confused because I wasn't very good at the beginning. i mention this because i hoped that they were also struggling just in different areas. i hoped that they were like me in the sense that they found things hard, and that the only reason i did well was because i studied every minute of the day up until before the test essentially.

I find myself so dumb in this class because I constantly make careless mistakes. ranging from missing out a negative or even copying down a question wrong!! and i even did this in my tests. i spent half an hour trying to figure out why i couldn't get a question right because i'd integrated sin wrong. and that's higher knowledge.

on that note also, I find myself forgetting basic algebra from n5 lmao. its so dissapointing to me. i want to be really good. I'm afraid I won't be good enough for uni, that i'll fall behind everyone else because i don't really *get* concepts. I can do the methods fine, well not really considering i make careless mistakes all the time. its as though im good at the basic stuff but when it actually gets into the "real" maths im lost.

Is this normal? will i get better? ive done past papers and there are questions i can do because ive learned them but i struggle so bad. i feel like i can only do the basics.
Reply 1