The Student Room Group

Aspiring Medic

Studying medicine requires a lot of fate (as well as commitment), a lot of: is it meant to be or is it not. I've heard a lot of people get the 4 big rejections. And some lucky ones with their 4 offers. We're all hard workers and we all see our own goals, sometimes it just takes longer.

Hi, my name is Christine and this is my blog. I will hopefully be documenting my journey to studying medicine.

For anyone that's curious these are my GCSE results:

Spoiler

I'm currently studying: Chemistry, Biology, Maths and Statistics (in Year 13)

UKCAT score:

Spoiler

I'll be updating how my revision has come along, mocks exams, daily life:u:...etc.

I will be replying to questions when I can, good luck to everyone applying for 2018 entry:smile:

Scroll to see replies

19:35 26/11/17

Just a small post about tips, whether you're sitting your GCSEs or doing your A-levels, don't burn yourself out. Listening to some sad piano music has made me think about all those times last year when I wouldn't sleep because I was worried I'd be 'wasting time'. When I pushed myself to do a bunch of revision that never got me to think about it properly. You can't memorise a textbook and expect to be able to answer the apply your knowledge questions or in fact, know that you've understood it properly. And to add, I didn't really have the best year, my Chemistry teacher hardly showed up, I had a bunch of covers for Biology but all in all, I've learnt from experience that if you really want something, don't hesitate to act! I complained enough times to my school until we were given covers for biology!

My results aren't the best but they're not the worst either. I forget that sometimes.:smile:And maybe you do too.