The Student Room Group

Nervous about placement

Hi,
I'm due to start placement in January and I am excited, but I'm also very nervous. I'm a first year childrens student nurse. I'm mainly scared of geting things wrong, not getting along with my mentor and just generally stuggling with balancing placement, uni work, travel, part time job and making sure I stay healthy and get enough sleep.
If anyone has any advice on how to cope with all this on placement, and how to remain positive more so than kust focusing on my nerves that would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much!
Original post by x.BlueEyedGirl.x
Hi,
I'm due to start placement in January and I am excited, but I'm also very nervous. I'm a first year childrens student nurse. I'm mainly scared of geting things wrong, not getting along with my mentor and just generally stuggling with balancing placement, uni work, travel, part time job and making sure I stay healthy and get enough sleep.
If anyone has any advice on how to cope with all this on placement, and how to remain positive more so than kust focusing on my nerves that would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much!

Honestly, these are all likely problems that you will experience over the course of your degree and it's a good thing that you've identified these already and are aware of them.

Firstly, everyone gets things wrong and makes mistakes at some point. You will never ever know everything. The key thing is to try and think things through systematically even when you are rushed. This is very much a skill you will develop throughout your training and into your career. Focusing on the basic principles of nursing care such as consent, dignity and empathy will always help you to do the right thing.