Confidence Intervals of ratios Watch

bramp
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hello,
I'm a PhD student and I'm a little embarrassed to be asking for Maths help on here, but there is something I couldn't find out by googling, so I figured I'll ask here.

I have been running two sets of experiments, the first is a base line, and the second is hopefully an improvement on the first. I repeat each experiment many times and get a set of values, for example:

first = ( 2, 3, 3, 2, 4, 2 ) mean = 2.67, stddev = 0.82, 95% interval = +/- 0.65
second = (4, 5, 6, 5, 4, 5 ) mean = 4.83, stddev = 0.75, 95% interval = +/- 0.6

Now I can work out a 95% confidence interval for both sets of values, but what I've been writing in my report is that the second experiment produces values 1.81 (4.83/2.67) higher (and better) than the first experiment. However I do not know what the confidence intervals would be on this value.

I had thought I could divide the intervals together for example the first min value divided by the second's min value. But I have a feeling this isn't right.

Hopefully this has explained my problem, and that someone is able to help.
Thanks
Andrew
bramp
Sorry I'm not sure I'm following you thirdrate. What are a, b and n?

Are you saying that
the Probability that R = a/b is the same as the Probability of X = n, times the probability of Y = n * a/b ?

So that will give me a distribution, and then from the distribution I can work out the +/- 5% around the mean? It would help a lot of you could show me how this works on the values I actually gave.

One thing I should note. The values I've given are not the real values for my experiment, and just some I made up. However I plan to work out the ratio for both discrete and continuous data.

thanks
bramp
Ok, now I understand your first post. Thanks for taking the time to show me with my data.