Farrukhi
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
The essay question is: ‘Parliament can legally legislate on any topic whatever which, in the judgment of Parliament, is a fit subject for legislation. There is no power which, under the English constitution, can come into rivalry with the legislative sovereignty of Parliament.’

A.V.Dicey, ‘Introduction to the Study of the Law of the Constitution’ (1885).

Discuss how far is this view of Dicey an accurate reflection concerning the legislative supremacy of the UK Parliament today?

I've read the question several times but I have never written a law essay before so don't know really know what to do. Or what it is asking?

1) What am i supposed to discuss ? What is it really asking us to do?

2) Can someone give me some possible issues to discuss so I know what kind of thing what kind of thing we should be discussing?

Thanks x
umbrellala
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Farrukhi)
The essay question is: ‘Parliament can legally legislate on any topic whatever which, in the judgment of Parliament, is a fit subject for legislation. There is no power which, under the English constitution, can come into rivalry with the legislative sovereignty of Parliament.’

A.V.Dicey, ‘Introduction to the Study of the Law of the Constitution’ (1885).

Discuss how far is this view of Dicey an accurate reflection concerning the legislative supremacy of the UK Parliament today?

I've read the question several times but I have never written a law essay before so don't know really know what to do. Or what it is asking?

1) What am i supposed to discuss ? What is it really asking us to do?

2) Can someone give me some possible issues to discuss so I know what kind of thing what kind of thing we should be discussing?

Thanks x