Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I've just received feedback for a piece of university coursework, in which my lecturer said I had mixed referencing styles. She included this as one of only three points for correction on the summary sheet. I replied, politely explaining that I had not referenced incorrectly, and quoting the university referencing guide. She agreed that this was, in fact, correct, but said that it will not have affected my mark so is not worth changing.
    Is she lying so that I do not escalate this further to try and get my mark changed, as she would get in trouble for not knowing the correct referencing procedure? Or is it true that no marks are awarded or deducted for correct referencing? I am in my third year of an English Literature degree.

ReputationRep:
    You're in your 3rd year, grades in coursework matter. I would politely send an email to the head of your course/department and ask them if incorrect referencing affects the awarded grade. See what their response is and take it from there Better to be safe than sorry.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by gemma1096)
    Hi all,

I've just received feedback for a piece of university coursework, in which my lecturer said I had mixed referencing styles. She included this as one of only three points for correction on the summary sheet. I replied, politely explaining that I had not referenced incorrectly, and quoting the university referencing guide. She agreed that this was, in fact, correct, but said that it will not have affected my mark so is not worth changing.
    Is she lying so that I do not escalate this further to try and get my mark changed, as she would get in trouble for not knowing the correct referencing procedure? Or is it true that no marks are awarded or deducted for correct referencing? I am in my third year of an English Literature degree.