Tips for renting as a student for the first time

Watch
DrawTheLine
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I made a post the other day about being frustrated with potential flatmates being flaky and unorganised, so I've decided to look for a place of my own. So far I'm searching for 1 bed flats (that would be ideal as it's quieter and only myself to make mess, no-one else to clean up after) as well as some house shares / other student accommodation. I've spotted a few I like and am enquiring about them, and have a viewing for a flat on Wednesday. I know my budget and what I want.

I was just wondering if there's any tips on things I should and shouldn't do when looking for my own place. I currently live in halls and I'm in my first year. Are there any particularly good websites to browse? Anything I should definitely avoid? Anything that are red flags I might not realise? Any tips will be really appreciated.
claireestelle
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by DrawTheLine)
I made a post the other day about being frustrated with potential flatmates being flaky and unorganised, so I've decided to look for a place of my own. So far I'm searching for 1 bed flats (that would be ideal as it's quieter and only myself to make mess, no-one else to clean up after) as well as some house shares / other student accommodation. I've spotted a few I like and am enquiring about them, and have a viewing for a flat on Wednesday. I know my budget and what I want.

I was just wondering if there's any tips on things I should and shouldn't do when looking for my own place. I currently live in halls and I'm in my first year. Are there any particularly good websites to browse? Anything I should definitely avoid? Anything that are red flags I might not realise? Any tips will be really appreciated.