The Student Room Group

AFP advice - poster

Hi all

I'm a current med student hoping to apply for an AFP. I have a year until I apply and was wondering what sort of things do they look at ? I know there's 10 points for posters and publications and I was wondering with posters how do they confirm you've done it/been? I've presented my poster at 2-3 conferences but have heard I only get max 1 point for the same poster. Do i need a letter to prove I attended/ can show registration/abstract acceptance ? I have been taking photos/ keeping the abstract booklets as I go as evidence but wasn't sure if this is enough :/
Certificate of presentation is enough. And yes I believe for any single piece of research you get points for the most valuable presentation only (international>national>regional). So 5 presentations for 1 piece of research =/= 5 credits.
They may officially state this but I got points for both poster and oral presentations for the same project.
Evidence wise for posters they wanted to see the poster- pictures, pdfs, photo of you beside the poster work. Abstract booklet only confirms it was accepted doesn't show you presented it. I also emailed some evidence in after the day because they asked me to.
As for the "10 points" that varies from deanery to deanery.
Hi, I am also applying for AFP next round, and was wondering if you're sure it is necessary to have pictures of you beside the poster as I have presented around 4/5 but have never done this. I have the actual posters and the abstract booklet evidence- is this not sufficient?
Also, I just looked at the LASE prospectus and it states: "The presentation must have been accepted or taken place before the close of the application period (13 October 2017)" implying that acceptance to a conference is sufficient.

Original post by medexist11