The Student Room Group

Alone and ill at Christmas

(edited 6 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous040598
Hi all,

First of I don't want this post to be super depressing or anything like that I just wanted a place to share my feelings and hopefully receive some positivity to keep me going from you guys reading.

So I'm a first year student at university but things haven't been great for me. During freshers week I caught a pretty deadly virus and was ill for over two weeks which meant I missed out on the socials and sports trials that I really wanted to do. The group of 'friends' I was in weren't really all that nice so I walked away and didn't look back even if it meant I was alone in lectures etc. (I'd rather be in my own company than with fake people which was fine for me).

I had to move accommodation three times due to the people I was placed with were I suffered criminal damage, verbal/physical abuse and theft of my property but thankfully the halls I'm in now are great and my flatmates are all lovely. So yeah it was a pretty unstable start for me at uni but I'm doing really well work wise with my first two assignments coming back as 2:1s.

But unfortunately I wasn't able to enjoy my new hall etc because I got ill and haven't recovered. I've been to the doctors countless times and even rushed to hospital and still no one knows what's wrong. Now I'm a size 10/12 for a reason (I love my food) and because if whatever's happening I'm in constant pain and my appetite is just non existent.

Right now for me it's incredibly hard. Being ill at Christmas is hard enough but because I missed a lot of the start of university where friendships are formed I didn't make any friends and now during such a hard time I don't have that support...

I'm not really sure where I was going with this but I guess all I wanted was to tell someone how I was feeling and how much I would love to have some friends to visit me since I'm on medical leave until February from university.