dawnngyuen
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi all!

I hope I've posted in the right forum, my apologies if I'm wrong here.

I'm in my fourth year earning my BSc in Canada. I don't think my GPA is high enough for any Canadian pharmacy schools, so I am looking into attending UK pharmacy schools as an option instead.

I'm just not sure where to start, what the requirements are, which schools to go to, what is recognized by Canadian licensing bodies, etc.

Do you HAVE to get the MPharm in order to practice in Canada? Or can it be any Pharmacy related masters? I am interested in going to the following schools:

University of Leeds
University of York
Newcastle University
University of East Anglia
University of Sussex

I believe you have to do at least a 4 year BSc program to be able to practice in Canada, but I'm not sure if it has to be the MPharm or if it can be any pharmacy/pharmacology program.

It'd be great to hear from other Canadian students who have done this too!

Any help or advice would be great!
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
In the UK Pharmacy (as with Medicine and Law) is an undergraduate degree - thus Pharmacy courses in the UK are typically 4-5 years long as they include the relevant "pre-pharm" content in the earlier years. I highly doubt you would be able to skip this, as these courses are designed to train NHS pharmacists who meet the requirements of the relevant UK pharmacy accrediting body (or bodies). You will need to investigate the relevant Canadian analogues to these, and ideally contact them directly to find out what will qualify you to become a dispensing pharmacist there.