The Student Room Group

PGCE Workload inquiry

Hey all, I'm a graduate illustrator and animator and trying to get onto a PGCE in Art and Design in 2018. So far the horror stories of incredibly high workload and pressure haven't put me off! I currently work part-time to pay the bills. I don't believe I get student finance as I'm not a UK citizen, but a resident visa holder.

So it would be great if someone could reassure me, take me by the hand and tell me that all will be well, that I can still work part-time during my course and that the workload for a PGCE is around 20 hours a week or suchlike.
Which of course, is nonsense, so how many hours a week will I realistically be spending on my PGCE? This includes University time, School time and after-hours work. Is it as high for Art as it is for non-creative subjects?
Original post by varunjk95
Hey all, I'm a graduate illustrator and animator and trying to get onto a PGCE in Art and Design in 2018. So far the horror stories of incredibly high workload and pressure haven't put me off! I currently work part-time to pay the bills. I don't believe I get student finance as I'm not a UK citizen, but a resident visa holder.

So it would be great if someone could reassure me, take me by the hand and tell me that all will be well, that I can still work part-time during my course and that the workload for a PGCE is around 20 hours a week or suchlike.
Which of course, is nonsense, so how many hours a week will I realistically be spending on my PGCE? This includes University time, School time and after-hours work. Is it as high for Art as it is for non-creative subjects?

Moved to the teaching forum, where you're more likely to get an answer :smile:

I will not lie - the workload is high. It does not matter which subject you are doing, initially the workload is high (for your PGCE).