The Student Room Group

DRAMA / THEATRE / SINGING EXPERTS — advice on dehydration?

So in a few weeks time I will be performing in my school production as one of the lead characters and I will be singing and doing some dancing (very basic secondary school production-standard dancing, believe me lol). Anyway, I was in my school production last year as well and noticed that during the show every time I went off stage after a scene I would be EXTREMELY thirsty? Like, completely parched and my throat would be very dry and I kept having to drink lots and lots of water because I just felt awful. I did singing during my production last year as well and by the end of the show (we did three consecutive nights) I very nearly lost my voice while I was singing onstage. Now, obviously, you can tell I’m not a professional because I know that normally professional actors or people in the theatre profession/ training to be in theatre have methods through which they can cope with this kind of problem. I do theatre acting as a fun hobby so I know very little in the way of technique and such, so does anyone have an explanation for my problem and how I can prevent it this time around? I will only be doing two nights this year as I’m sharing my role with somebody else, so hopefully I will be able to sustain my voice for longer. Thanks! :smile: