Should I call in sick on boxing day? Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I work in retail in a store which does no sale just reduces some crappy items no one buys. I'm on a 3-7 shift for boxing day and I have worked boxing day for the last three years there and it is quiet compared to other shops. It is so quiet they have reduced opening hours as they were making losses.

My problem is I am unable to get home from my shift as buses finishes at 4/5 which means my shift will be quite quiet as lots of people use public transport. I would have to use 3/4 of my wage from that day on a taxi. I have no loyalty to the store as staff are not appreciated or treated fairly by managers and students are taken advantage of and I get paid peanuts. I have tried for four months to change my weekly cintracted hours to an earlier time so this wouldn't be an issue but have had no help

Should I call in sick? I have a convincing reason just concerned about the repercussions as most likely they'll think I'm faking.
k0by
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Just do it
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
Jack22031994
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Its only 4 hours, thats nothing!

But in the meantime, look for another job if you rent happy
Zarek
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
What about your contractual obligation to your employer. This is the attitude which drives Wagamama managers to distraction.
ANM775
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
I work in retail in a store which does no sale just reduces some crappy items no one buys. I'm on a 3-7 shift for boxing day and I have worked boxing day for the last three years there and it is quiet compared to other shops. It is so quiet they have reduced opening hours as they were making losses.