The Student Room Group

Not Eligible for Full Funding

Hi everybody!
So, I am an undergraduate this year and have been going round in circles with Student Finance assessment of my application which I sent around September. Fast forward, it is now December. I have received an e-mail saying that I am not eligible for "full" funding as I have used up all the years however I am still eligible for a maintenance loan. I previously studied Nursing which I did not receive "full" funding either as I did not apply for tuition loan. I did not complete my Nursing course due to mitigating circumstances and therefore dropped out. Now, I am starting a new course at a different University I would have thought Student Finance would aid me with tuition loan as I did not apply for it before.

I work part time earning about 500 per month. My parents are on low income and are on debt management. There is no way for me to pay my tuition in full nor will pay on time each payment plan due to our financial circumstances.

Is there anyway for Student Finance to re-assess my application? Could I loan for tuition instead of getting maintenance loan as I have not had previous tuition funding before?

Many Thanks!
(edited 6 years ago)
Original post by MissusMae
Hi everybody!
So, I am an undergraduate this year and have been going round in circles with Student Finance assessment of my application which I sent around September. Fast forward, it is now December. I have received an e-mail saying that I am not eligible for "full" funding as I have used up all the years however I am still eligible for a maintenance loan. I previously studied Nursing which I did not receive "full" funding either as I did not apply for tuition loan. I did not complete my Nursing course due to mitigating circumstances and therefore dropped out. Now, I am starting a new course at a different University I would have thought Student Finance would aid me with tuition loan as I did not apply for it before.