The Student Room Group

Account apprenticeship vs Accounting Degree at Leeds?

I’m currently studying maths, physics and chemistry and university and I’m looking to go into going into banking/accounting.

Should I do:
1. A higher level degree with Barclays in Group Finance, where I’d get a level 4 AAT qualification (foundation degree).

2. A degree in Accounting and Finance at Leeds, rated the no. 1 degree in the UK for accounting.

My choices are really split, as I believe that an apprenticeship will give me experience and also an AAT qualification straight away, however a degree will look better and allow me to move up into higher positional jobs in the future and also allow me to get better pay.

Thank you.
Reply 1
Original post by Biglipid
I’m currently studying maths, physics and chemistry and university and I’m looking to go into going into banking/accounting.

Should I do:
1. A higher level degree with Barclays in Group Finance, where I’d get a level 4 AAT qualification (foundation degree).

2. A degree in Accounting and Finance at Leeds, rated the no. 1 degree in the UK for accounting.

My choices are really split, as I believe that an apprenticeship will give me experience and also an AAT qualification straight away, however a degree will look better and allow me to move up into higher positional jobs in the future and also allow me to get better pay.

Thank you.

How much does the Barclays scheme pay and how long is it until you get the level 4 qualification?

I had a look at the Barclays website and it indicated that the scheme was 4 years. That seems a hell of a long time for someone able to get into Leeds Uni for A+F to pass AAT? Any idea about pay progression?
Reply 2
Original post by ajj2000
How much does the Barclays scheme pay and how long is it until you get the level 4 qualification?