Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Hi

I’m starting to get so irritated. Last year I studied in London and stayed home and gave my mum 2000 pounds off my loan.

It wasn’t a lump sum but small bits and bobs. I even paid for her holiday, stuff like Ubers. I thought she’d pay me back but she didn’t.

I wanted to open up a savings account and she was against it. I ended moving to Scotland for uni and needed money since my loan was coming late. She refused to give me a penny.
    Now here I am back for Christmas and she’s got 600 pounds off me and my account is in negative.

She’s booked a luxurious Dubai trip and she’s said that’s how she’s paid me back. Should I be angry or let it go?

I know she's your mum but stop giving her your money. You're giving her money then complaining about it, you could've just refused to give her. Tell her to book her own holiday. You're going to be paying back the loan not her.

What kind of scum takes money off their children? She should be providing for you, not the other way round.

I could understand if the circumstances were different, for example, if you were actually in a position where you could help her, and she was in a position where she desperately needed help...but you're a student, giving up your loans (which you have to pay back) to fund her excessive lifestyle? Nah.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    Now here I am back for Christmas and she’s got 600 pounds off me and my account is in negative.
    Well, at least you've got a life lesson out of it. Never give money to unreliable, financially irresponsible people.

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I’m starting to get so irritated. Last year I studied in London and stayed home and gave my mum 2000 pounds off my loan.

It wasn’t a lump sum but small bits and bobs. I even paid for her holiday, stuff like Ubers. I thought she’d pay me back but she didn’t.