silversocks012
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Yo! I'm studying offender profiling atm and not entirely happy with the definition of investigative psychology in the textbook - how does it work??
Thanks
chazwomaq
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Offender profiling is often pseudoscience I'm afraid. See chapter in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/50_Gre...lar_Psychology for examples of why.
the bear
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
there was quite a vogue for this a few years ago. Dr Paul Britton was always popping up on the telly & he wrote several bestsellers about his work. Then it all went horribly wrong with the tragic cases linked to Rachel Nickell.
silversocks012
Rep:
?
(Original post by chazwomaq)
Offender profiling is often pseudoscience I'm afraid. See chapter in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/50_Gre...lar_Psychology for examples of why.
Ah yeah I am aware of some the limitations with the methodology, was in search of a better definition of the investigative psychology part of the bottom-up approach
silversocks012
Rep:
?
(Original post by the bear)
there was quite a vogue for this a few years ago. Dr Paul Britton was always popping up on the telly & he wrote several bestsellers about his work. Then it all went horribly wrong with the tragic cases linked to Rachel Nickell.
They've had some pretty mixed success certainly - arguably the cases where it was implemented successfully such as John Duffy, was mainly common sense. Apparently a study in 2002 found that chemistry students produced a more accurate profile on a solved murder case than experienced senior detectives! Do you know much about investigative psychology specifically?
the bear
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Spider&TheFly)