Laptop buying help Watch

katiew1243
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi guys,

I’m a 3rd year English language and linguistics student, I am looking to buy a new laptop as my last one has popped its clogs. I want one that is light & portable, with a good processor and a good battery life.

What would you advise?

I have looked at MacBook airs, retina 12’ and pros (although pros are too expensive), I even looked at the Dell XPS 13’ and a couple of others. What would you advise? Having a USB no longer bothers me as I’ve started to use google drive after hearing a USB horror story involving a dissertation.

Thanks!
Kate.
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
T0ucan
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi, if you're looking at something like a Macbook I'd recommend a Windows Surface Laptop (8gb). I'm only an a level student but I use this laptop daily. It's great because it has all the benefits of a Macbook without the nasty OS haha. It's also very light, portable and looks really good!
katiew1243
Rep:
?
Hmm thank you! I’ll take a look at it! The OS doesn’t bother me to be honest, but I’m open options.
TheWorm1234
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Macbook would be an unnecessary expense tbh, the Macbook Air has outdated hardware and the 12 inch Macbook has a terrible keyboard and only USB-C ports. The Surface is good but other manufacturers sell clones which are much cheaper. The current Surface package means you have to buy the keyboard and pen separately. I'd also recommend a 13.3 inch screen minimum for extended periods of writing.

https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/b...o-alternatives

Spoiler:
Show

Most people at my uni with Macs are artsy fartsy hipsters
wolto
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago