Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi
    I have a disability which means I will find it hard to work (paralysed shoulders down following a accident when I was 17) Im now 28 currently live alone receiving disability benefit and housing benefit. Last year I finished a degree with the open University studying from home. I have applied for Masters degree and been offered unconditionally but because of the distance would need to move to the University. I'm guessing the only way I could fund the degree would be student loan?
    Do I wait until I have been approved a student loan before I accept the offer?
    Not having a job would I be able to get housing benefit for student accommodation at the University?
    If so I'm guessing I will have to give up my council house here , but after one year (which is how long the Masters degree is) I would be homeless I guess? Would they just kick me out of the University accommodation ? :/

Many thanks for any help/advice
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by tardigrade1989)
    Hi
    I have a disability which means I will find it hard to work (paralysed shoulders down following a accident when I was 17) Im now 28 currently live alone receiving disability benefit and housing benefit. Last year I finished a degree with the open University studying from home. I have applied for Masters degree and been offered unconditionally but because of the distance would need to move to the University.
    Hi tardigrade1989,

As there's a lot going on here we'll take it bit by bit.

I'm guessing the only way I could fund the degree would be student loan?
    There are lots of ways to fund postgraduate study. The Postgraduate Loan is a contribution towards your total costs. The postgraduate study section of the gov.uk website is a good starting point for other funding sources.

Do I wait until I have been approved a student loan before I accept the offer?