The Student Room Group

Advice on Moving to the U.K

Hey everyone,
I have plans on moving to the UK in the future. Im currently in my final year at Uni and in a couple years, I plan on coming to do my post-grad degree but I also have intentions on living there...permanently.

My question is...I have been looking at some cities and areas in the UK that are promising. I think I have ruled out London because it is incredibly expensive to live there and I am now looking at other nice cities in the UK. Tbh, I am looking at cities close to London... so like Bristol, Birmingham, Brighton, etc. I am looking for areas that are affordable, safe and diverse. It'll be nice to suggest some places.

Of if you can as well. what are some really affordable places in London to live.
Original post by daniel_floyd_
Hey everyone,
I have plans on moving to the UK in the future. Im currently in my final year at Uni and in a couple years, I plan on coming to do my post-grad degree but I also have intentions on living there...permanently.

My question is...I have been looking at some cities and areas in the UK that are promising. I think I have ruled out London because it is incredibly expensive to live there and I am now looking at other nice cities in the UK. Tbh, I am looking at cities close to London... so like Bristol, Birmingham, Brighton, etc. I am looking for areas that are affordable, safe and diverse. It'll be nice to suggest some places.

Of if you can as well. what are some really affordable places in London to live.

Coventry is cheap in the centre of England and easy to get to anywhere i the country by train or car including London
Brighton is really expensive too. Look at places like Bristol as they're fairly well developed and affordable.
Reply 3
If you want somewhere close to London try Birmingham because they’re gonna make a train that goes straight from Birmingham to London in 45 mins- but because of this the rent and stuff like that is going to get expensive