Help - Failing med school :'( :'(

Watch this thread
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for moral support and practical advice.

I'm a GEP student, and made it through Yrs 1 & 2 without any dramas. Well, I'm back after the Christmas break having failed my EMQ exam at the end of the last term. Now 3rd year isn't even half over, and I know I'm in resits. Plus if I fail any other exams I may have to repeat the year.

I go to a big school, and the support I got was pretty non-existent. My personal tutor met with me once in first year, and I haven't seen him since, and I'm not sure who else I can to talk to.

I'm feeling really burned out at the moment, and am finding it difficult to focus on what I need to do to pull through. I'm so tired from hospital hours that I can't remember the last time I sat down and studied, and the work and deadlines are just piling up on my desk.

Part of the problem is that I've never had to work and study at the same time (unless the occasional zero-hour contract shift when I was preparing for GAMSAT and UKCAT counts, and I don't think it does). I'm also struggling to remember why I wanted to do this in the first place.

Any pointers, especially from people who've been through it and made it out the other side, would be totally appreciated.

Thanks!
Ghotay
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 years ago
First, just addressing your title. I think it's useful to recontextualise - failing one exam out of three years so far is far from 'failing' med school. It's a difficult course and many if not most of the other medics I know have failed an exam at some point or another. The majority passed on the re-sits and have gone on to live normal lives, relatively unencumbered by the residual shame of having failed an exam (sarcasm)