How to answer AS level literature questions? Watch

Laura2712
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hi!

I am studying AS level English Literature on AQA spec A. I understand the texts and analysis so far however I am really struggling to answer the exam questions. I was wondering if TSR could give me some tips on what to include in my essays.

I have looked at the A.O.s and know that you need to include:
language analysis
structure
different interpretations of audiences
and that you have to look at the play as a whole
but I am really struggling. It's like I know what I need to do but I can';t do it. Does that make sense? Like when I get given an exam question, my mind just fails to come up with anything to put. I know this will get better, the better I know the text but I just wanted a few key pointers really on what I have to do to get the higher grades and if there is, maybe, a generic essay plan that anyone could give me?

I am studying: A Woman of No Importance, Beowulf and Spies if anyone is prepared to give text-specific help...

Thank you for any assistance in advance!

:tsr2:
02mik_e
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
yh i know what you mean, i had this problem and i am only beginning to develop my writing into A-grade style. Just look at sample A-grade essays and see how they do it.
icedsarcasm
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Plan! I know loads of people don't plan at GCSE because they think it's a waste of time (I was one of those people), but you really do get marks for organisation and structure at A Level, so it's important that you make the time to plan your answer.