The Student Room Group

Veterinary Medicine Worries

Hi, firstly a bit of background: I have an Animal Science degree (2:1) and have applied to vet school (Oct 2017) but was unsuccessful because I don't have chemistry A-level. I am currently thinking of doing a chemistry A-level distance learning course, and applying again in October 2018 with a predicted grade (and doing those chem exams may/june 2019).

I have doubts about vet school, because I'm not a high-flying 'type A' student which is usually associated with the profession, I put a lot of pressure on myself and I struggle with self doubt and (undiagnosed) anxiety/depression which hits me periodically. My university tutor advised me not to pursue vet school because I am not as strong in exams as I am in written assignments (which I agree with but I do think I vastly improved in 3rd year because I would not have achieved a 2:1 without it).

I tend to over think vet school and being a vet: I imagine scenarios where I get things completely wrong, or struggle to cope with the stress and end up having a massive breakdown, or worse.