struz
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
you've probably heard this all before but i just wanted to get another person's opinion on the matter: I really like the idea of studying medicine as I love the course content and generally the role of being a doctor, but am just worried of only setting my sights on medicine and then hating it once i'm in it.

i'm just having doubts as i've heard so many horror stories of the stress and even regrets people experience of going into medicine in the first place. then on the other hand, i've heard med students say the work is easier than a-levels!

i also really love psychology though. I do not necessarily want to be come a psychologist, rather just study it at degree level as i enjoy it so much. what worries me about doing this is the job prospects afterwards. other than possibly being a doctor, i have no idea about what i want to do and i'm just worrying that i'll regret not doing medicine if i choose psychology!

sorry for this long post but it's just been really stressing me out! any advice at would be greatly appreciated! thanks
JammyP
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Get some work experience, talk to real doctors, Working as a Health care assistant or just volunteering at a local hospital, or care home or hospice.

Experience as much in a caring setting as you can, also I'm sure some of the med students on here will be willing to lend their opinions.
dont_trust_busdrivers
Report 11 years ago
Also see if there are any summer schools or health care careers fair things that you ca go to. They do give you an insight and gives you oppoutnities to ask questions to people in the field. Maybe ask your careers advisers...etc they should know something! x
struz
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
thanks for the advice guys!
Spacemonkey the 2nd
Report 11 years ago
I would say do medicine.