This discussion is closed.
divinademuerte
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi, I am hoping to start yr1 at Kent and wondered if there is any students that can comment on how have they have found their course in computer science.I have read that C.S is the degree with more drop outs at universities on the first year.I havent got much experience in programming but i am interested in artificial intelligence and I am thinking of doing a beginners course during the summer to be better prepared for this course.I haven't studied C.S for A level.Has anyone started this course with no experience in programming etc and found it ok? or was it too hard?Thanks
Clarafehybelle
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I’m currently at Kent but studying a completely different degree. The uni itself I’ve found quite good though and I’ll let you know if I find anyone who is currently studying computer science
R3negade
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Hi,

I am in my first year @ Kent doing CS.

Prior to the course, I had very little programming experience. I knew what variables and strings were, but not much else. The content is pretty thorough and at the moment I feel pretty confident with a decent amount of programming concepts, although, I am obviously still very much a beginner.

Java is the main language taught in the first year and we are using an IDE called bluej(https://www.bluej.org) that is specifically designed for learners. The creator of the IDE used to teach CS at Kent, but now works at Kings. The co-author of the complimentary book is faculty and teaches the introduction course to Java.

Whether the course is hard depends on the individual. Some people struggle with some aspects whilst others do not, however, there is a ton of support if needed. All of the lecturers have an open door policy and are receptive to any questions or issues you may have.

I am having a great time with the course and I can't wait 'til I go back on Monday.