OCR GCSE History Paper 1 J410 4th Jun 2018 [Exam Discussion] Watch

Aimeepxxx
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am studying Crime and punishment, Henry and his ministers, The Cold War and USA for this years History GCSE. Does anyone have any tips about revising for History effectively and how they tackle exam questions? I seem to know most of the information, I just need help improving ways in which I write them. I'm aiming for at least a grade 6 or above as I am desperate to continue doing History at A level. Please help!! Thank you!!
999tigger
  • Answer Heroes
Badges: 19
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Aimeepxxx)
I am studying Crime and punishment, Henry and his ministers, The Cold War and USA for this years History GCSE. Does anyone have any tips about revising for History effectively and how they tackle exam questions? I seem to know most of the information, I just need help improving ways in which I write them. I'm aiming for at least a grade 6 or above as I am desperate to continue doing History at A level. Please help!! Thank you!!
Hey Aimee you sound like you are in a good place with your studies.

I'm assuming you are happy with your notes an that you have good revision books?

By the time you are in control of the core material , then its just a case of learning to do exams.

You do this by practising exam papers.
Presumably you have the spec and know the different exams.
If not download it. Ive had a look and cant decide on the exact code
Theres the new 9-1 spec to be first sat this year. J410 Explaining the moern world and J418 The modern world?

Anyway all you do is get all the past papers and mark schemes then just consistently practice answering them. I cant see precisely but one of the papers usual involves examining sources rather than just an essay, so you need the technique for that.

Essays in general you need to answer the question- and then compare to mark scheme.