Punkypunk
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
His everyone! this is my first time using this site so I hope it gets to where it needs to be. 😜
I have my first ever interview at uni next week and I am feeling really nervous about the individual interview. I am trying to prepare, but no idea on what sort of questions I'll be asked. I have applied for mental health nursing. I really want to get it right, I'm 30 years old and have 3 children. I have only applied to this one uni, so it's my only hope of achieving my dream.
Any pointers on preparation and Q's I may be asked will be greatly appreciated!! I really need to secure a place, so I can finally get out into the big wide world and help those in need. 💙💚💛💜
J x
04MR17
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
You will probably be asked:

Why that university?

Why that course?

Also,

MR's top 3 tips for a successful interview:

- Act comfortable not confident. Trying to appear confident risks looking cocky. Behave as though you are enjoying being in the environment and that the idea of a one-to-one is something you would like and be suited to. So relax and feel as though you fit naturally into that academic environment.

- THINK ALOUD. This is the big one. Listen to the question, think about the answer, communicate these thoughts to the interviewer. Don't feel that you have to deliver a succinct answer quickly: this is a discussion, not a quiz. The interviewers wish to see your thought pattern, they wish to see the logic you are following in order to reach your point of conclusion (i.e. your definitive answer). Don't rush that. Don't be afraid of silence either, but if you are thinking seriously about the question then do it out loud.Image