SAAS and ELQ rules for second degrees (even if you don't have an undergrad)

Watch
JustBob
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi everyone. I would like to teach. Either English or Drama.

I have a masters in acting, which I self funded.

I don't have an undergrad. I've never had any funding.

I can't do a PGCE/ PGDE without an undergrad.

I can't get funding for an undergrad because of the ELQ rule. ELQ fees in England mean I can't get another masters which would enable me to teach FE/ private schools. I'm not sure I can get funding for another masters in Scotland because of the same rule, though I read somewhere that I could as I've never had any funding before and ELQ fees don't exist in Scotland. And is this true of undergrads in Scotland? Is this true remotely? I am a Scottish resident. If not does anyone know what funding rules are with undergrad at OU? I feel like I've tried every avenue possible and at 47 I'm a wee bit tired of it...
bluewhale99
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Hi!

ELQ is such a terrible and prohibitive policy - What's just as bad is that most universities are really unclear on their websites when it comes to confirming a) whether they charge ELQ fees and b) what those ELQ fees actually are (including the OU - might be worth contacting them directly to see if you can get an answer out of them?)

You may well have already done so, but just to check - it might be worth contacting some individual universities who offer the PGCE/PGDE and asking directly whether you would qualify given that you do have a masters, as sometimes they can be flexible with their requirements...not sure if it would work or if you've already tried it and it hasn't worked, but worth a shot maybe (?) and nothing to lose if they say no

e.g.:

Have a look at Huddersfield uni: https://courses.hud.ac.uk/full-time/...-pgce-with-qts