Will Cambridge care about your personal statement/reference?

Watch
Ilikeharrypotter
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I mean I know they care but would they care if I only volunteered at a library helping the staff make activities and games available for children (this was for UCAS) and if i say that in my personal statement- will they care that I only done one thing? - Would that influence me not getting in? Will they care if I don't have enough UCAS points and how much does UCAS points do I need to get into Cambridge? Also, if i have no experience in participating in things like the Scholar programme or went to good universities as a taster-would that also influence me into not getting into Cambridge?

What are Cambridge looking for in CV's? Does anyone know any History curriculum's/activities that will be good to mention? Or any general curriculum's?
Niekman843
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Yes then we’ll it’s a top University even
Dysf(x)al
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Ilikeharrypotter)
Like say for UCAS points I only volunteered at a library helping the staff make activities and games available for children and if i say that in my personal statement- will they care that I only done one thing? Will they care if I don't have enough UCAS points and how much does UCAS points do I need to get into Cambridge? Also, if i have no experience in participating in things like the Scholar programme or went to good universities as a taster-would that influence me getting into Cambridge?
It depends on the course you're doing. Doing super-curriculars that relate to your course help; doing stuff that's completely irrelevant won't. They aren't looking for what people call "well-rounded students".

Also, Cambridge don't use the UCAS points sytem. You need a minimum A*A*A or A*AA depending on the course - having that equivalent number of UCAS points from 4 A-levels with lower grades will not suffice.
dutchstudent123
Badges: 17