The Student Room Group

Is MPhil from Cambridge university good?

I am currently in my second semester of 1st year for a PhD at Cambridge university. So far I actually do not really like it and plan to go and get a BSc degree in paramedic (this means I will have 3 BSc degrees, biomedical science, medical biotech and MSc in Molecular medicine).

The idea being stuck in academia and potentionally pharmaceutical is not really attractive to me and therefore i thought I might need to get a clinical degree in order to have best of both worlds

But that means i am coming out with an MPhil, is MPhil better than MSc generally especially from Cambridge university, I mean is it even worth mentioning on my CV because I do not want employers to get an impression that I failed my PhD
You seem like you have a lot of qualifications - why not apply for a job you enjoy? If you like paramedics, go for it!

I'd say an mphil from Cambridge is definitely worth putting on your CV! I don't think there's any way of knowing that you were on the PhD programme prior to the MPhil, so no worries?
Reply 2
Original post by notespad
You seem like you have a lot of qualifications - why not apply for a job you enjoy? If you like paramedics, go for it!

I'd say an mphil from Cambridge is definitely worth putting on your CV! I don't think there's any way of knowing that you were on the PhD programme prior to the MPhil, so no worries?

oh I did not know that, because i read usually MPhil holders were in a PhD program and mostly like failed or dropped out. I did not know MPhil can be a stand alone degree
Original post by notespad

Original post by casey1990
oh I did not know that, because i read usually MPhil holders were in a PhD program and mostly like failed or dropped out. I did not know MPhil can be a stand alone degree