The Student Room Group

My degree has inflicted an unfair module

Hi all, prepare for a long story!

I am studying town planning (5 year course) in a university based in the north of England. I started on this course in 2013 and am due to finish summer of 2018.

A module has been started this year for our final year (as in we are the first set of students on this degree programme to ever do this module). It is a civil engineering module on surveying and is highly mathematical.

When I applied to the course way back in 2013 there was no suggestion that this module was on the course.

To do civil engineering at this uni you have to have done A-level maths, something that I and nobody on my town planning degree has done. Due to the mathematical nature of the degree we are all now struggling on this module and we have an exam in a few days time on it. Many of us feel this is the difference between passing and failing the entire degree.

My question/point is that is this fair? Personally I don't think it is fair that the uni has put us on a module which we are all unqualified for, during the middle of the degree and the fact that when we applied for the degree there was no advertisement of this module (they advertised every other module). Had I known this module was on it I would have been less willing to do the course.
it doesn’t sound fair, my course is heavily mathematical and a lot of people on my course had done a level maths, but during my first year the course still had a module on basic a level maths to help students who didn’t do maths a level. I’m not sure what can be done though
I think this is something you should have brought up with the university or module convener. I imagine you've had a few months of this module, countless time to learn the mathematics? It may be a module with specific maths that doesn't require knowing all A Level maths.