Music Production Guide For Beginners

Watch
Manitude
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi everyone,

Have you ever wanted to record your magnum opus, but never know how to get started? This thread is for you. I've prepared a couple of videos just for TSR to show an absolute beginner how to get started with recording music. While there are a whole bunch of different techniques and equipment out there, there are only a few things you need and you do not have to spend much money at all to get impressive sounding songs. So without further ado, here are the videos.

And here's some details on where you can obtain the equipment I'm using:
Spoiler:
Show

3.5 mm jack to 1/4 inch jack cable:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Earphones:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Microphone/interface:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Samson-Trac...samson+g+track
Note that the microphone is packaged with a USB cable and stand, these do not have to be bought separately.

Another, very popular, audio interface is the 2i2 by Focsurite:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Focusrite-S.../dp/B01E6T56EA

Audacity website:
https://www.audacityteam.org/
Reaper website:
https://www.reaper.fm/

Hopefully this will be useful to any aspiring musicians out there. And hopefully you'll all be joining us for the Music Production Challenge, which will be going live very soon, where everyone is invited to produce a track based around a musical or conceptual theme every month throughout 2018.

If you've any questions I'll do my best to answer them.

Adios, musicanos!
AngryJellyfish
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Nice work, I loved the editing on the first video!
PTMalewski
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago