Does anyone else not know there times tables? Watch

anonstudent2017
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm in my final year of college studying Computer science, maths and further maths and still cannot fully recite all of the times tables. I think it's because i've never needed them as I can use a calculator in 13 of my 14 past / future exams.

Anyone else?
Zoqua
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by anonstudent2017)
I'm in my final year of college studying Computer science, maths and further maths and still cannot fully recite all of the times tables. I think it's because i've never needed them as I can use a calculator in 13 of my 14 past / future exams.

Anyone else?
Dam that's bad, I know the 1-17 off the top of my head, and can basically do any others in a few seconds, but Mental Speed is basically my thing. They are not hard to learn, especially if your doing further maths, as you must be pretty good. You can learn the 1-14 times tables off by heart in less than an hour if you apply yourself.
DrawTheLine
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I struggle to do many things in my head as I'm a visual person, I always need to write what I'm thinking down in order to keep track. I can do most of them 1-12, however for some of them it may take a few seconds for me to picture it and then know the answer. It's really bad but I just can't keep track of stuff in my head, I need to see it in order to do it.
Minerva
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago

Anyone else?
And what happens if you have no calculator? To be unable to do your three times table, never mind twelve or higher, is nothing to boast about. I am old enough to think that this inability reflects very badly on the teaching you have had. I use calculators and spreadsheets all the time but I can still recite my tables, though I'm not going to tell how long it is since I learned them :tongue:.
anonstudent2017
Rep:
?
(Original post by Minerva)