The Student Room Group
not really. do physios still get an NHS bursary their whole course? then again, they are all unemployed :rolleyes:
Reply 2
well i don't really know about the bursaries cause i'm an irish student so wouldn't get one anyway :smile:

thing is, i'm 25 so would also be applying as a mature student. in my leaving cert i got 585 points (5A1s and a B1), also got first class honours (first in my class both times) in my undergrad and postgrad degrees (english lit).

so my worries are not so much about a-level results etc etc....
Reply 3
yes all uk phsyiotherapy students will get a nhs bursary for the hole of their course
Physiotherapy can be really interesting and at the senior levels...very rewarding financially (analogous to medicine really!). However, physios don't really have that ultimate responsibility for the vast majority of patients that doctors do, which is what put me off. I want to be an advocate for these people in the fight against ill health :smile:
i wasn't just being fecetious though. unemployment levels among newly qualified physios are huge.
bright star
i wasn't just being fecetious though. unemployment levels among newly qualified physios are huge.

The same could be said for the last year's group of medicine graduates judging by press reports. Havig said that, while medicine graduates are having problems finding training positions, physios appear to be showing something of a revival.

Were you also aware of the training scheme for Medicine assistants? Graduates of this scheme will take over first level medicine with the same result as has happened in nursing and physio, ie a lack of jobs for graduates. Maybe those who are currently training to be doctors should be watching their own backs!

See: http://www.medicine.bham.ac.uk/pg/assistant/