The Student Room Group
Students graduating at Aberystwyth University
Aberystwyth University

Aberystwyth University Scholarship Exams (Law and English Literature)

Hello,

I'm an A Level student and I am about to take part in the Scholarship Exams for Aberystwyth University, which is my Firm choice.

I'm taking the Law and English Literature exams - has anybody else taken these examinations? What are the success criteria? How did you find them overall?

Thanks in advance!
Reply 1
Hello,

Just bumping this thread as I am taking the examinations in eight days and would like some advice - thanks in advance.

- Linguist99
Students graduating at Aberystwyth University
Aberystwyth University
My cousin took a very similar test like this, because I asked him for advice on it since i'm taking it as well. Mostly, just stick to what you know, but seriously, be INTERESTING. Obviously, you have to write well, but FTLOG do something quirky, or don't bother writing it at all as the examiner just won't care.

The exam is to see how we think, rather than if we can answer A level questions after all!
Reply 3
Thanks, FlintofBavaria - much appreciated!

I've printed out some past papers. Some of the questions in last year's Law paper were "discuss the potential role of the law in one of the following areas: Brexit, human trafficking, global warming, human rights protection", "how would you define the word "justice" and what is its relation to law?" and there is a case study also. However, all of these questions carry between 30 and 40 marks, and what I found was that during my attempts to answer these questions my answers were rather short. How long do the answers have to be, on average? Does the number of marks given correlate to the amount written? Thanks in advance, once again!

- Linguist99
Original post by linguist99
Hello,

I'm an A Level student and I am about to take part in the Scholarship Exams for Aberystwyth University, which is my Firm choice.