username3684524
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 years ago

darkforest's Super Study Stresstival
(a bit like a festival, except more stress and less music)

A brief bit about me
Spoiler:
Show

Hey.

I'm actually a privately taught student, meaning that I teach myself everything and I will be sitting my exams at a private centre in June.

I did attend sixth form for Year 12 and Year 13, but I ended up dropping out in around March of Year 13 last year due to health reasons, deciding to save myself for the next exam season where I'd be better prepared.

I'm pretty much just making this blog to make sure that I do enough work. If I feel obligated to update here with some good progress then I should in theory work harder. (well, that's the plan anyway...)

What I'm studying
Spoiler:
Show

Mathematics A2 AQA (old spec)
C3, C4, M1

Further Mathematics AS+A2 AQA (old spec)
FP1, FP2, S1, S2, D2, M2

Physics AS+A2 AQA (new spec)

-----

Originally I was going to sit Chemistry, Maths and Physics in June of Year 13, but then I realised that Chemistry is awful and I'd much rather do Further Maths. So that's what I did, and I started teaching myself in September and finished in early January.

Where I currently am
Spoiler:
Show

So I have actually learned all of the content I need to know for the exams, meaning that all I have left is to do the hundreds of past papers on offer for my three subjects. I don't expect to know everything greatly so I will be revising my weaknesses along the way of course.

What I am to achieve
Spoiler:
Show

I have UCL as my firm choice for Physics (AAA), and King's College London as my insurance for Physics and Theoretical Physics (AAB). I would realllllly love to get into UCL, and I must at least get into KCL. Therefore I guess my target is AAA, but my real target of course is to do as well as possible.