Am I driving well for my level (3rd lesson 6 hours in)

Watch
Helper34
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I am an older driver (28) and I have my test booked in two months time. I know its quick but due to personal circumstances I need to have my license. I have passed my theory; On my first lesson last monday I was driving around local town. This was 10 minutes in after the hour of safety etc. He drove me back and said I had done well etc, but the next day I woke up with a bad cold. I had my next lesson and I didnt leave the industrial estate.. It went terrible. At the end, even though I explained I was unwell etc he didn't seem interested, just ended it with saying I would need more lessons than anticipated. I had a week break because I was unwell and went back today.

I was doing starts and hill starts perfectly, so we left after ten minutes. I drove quite a way from where I live to a nearby town, and the on the way I was making mistakes based on perception (not enough room from the curb), stalling not often but panicking at roundabouts and basically basic stuff.

I drove us the longest I have ever travelled in one sitting, and we got to the turn to my road and I went to swap gear to second. I had been in third and I put us in 4th by accident (had done this couple of times earlier), panicked and instructor helped me onto the road in second. He had a list of mistakes I had made (during the lesson I pointed out that perception etc would take time to get used to, he didn"t answer) and once again started saying we needed a "lot more" and that I may you guessed it.. need more lessons!

I am posting on here to see if I am at a good level at the moment and considering if I should get a diff instructor as the only times he praised me was when I did a perfect clurch move off.. At one point he even got fustrated because he was having to "tell me what to do when I should know it" when I stalled in a petrol station when someone cut us off.