The Student Room Group

Will my grades improve mocks to real gcses

Hey! Im a little disappointed with my mocks- they arent bad grades -mainly 7s or As, but i actually did work for them , and i dont know how to improve, and they are lower than my predicted which id like to achieve-

Most people say that real ones go better cause you actually revise- but i studied for these and everyone else seems to have gotten the same grades and not worked at all...
Im really worried about the real things now and i feel im going to do worse than i want.

Anyone know if i can go up to an 8 or even 9 lmao for the real things? Like has anyone got experiences of mocks going worse than real things when you worked for them??
To start with, the people that seem to have done no work could have done loads. You just can't tell from what people say. It's not even necessarily that they're lying, people just have a skewed perception of how hard they have or haven't worked and, at GCSE level particularly, people are afraid of letting other people know how much effort they've put in.
Secondly, people's real grades can vary hugely to their mock grades in either direction, there are so many factors that affect it. Also, as you're doing a new style set of exams your teachers don't necessarily know lots about how to mark them and in my experience people mark more harshly when they're not sure.
And finally, there's 4 more months til exams, that's a lot of time, if you work hard til then (make a plan, I love revision plans) and make sure you're revising in a way that works for you, you can go far.