emmawalker66
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Thinking about potentially taking Philosophy at uni (despite never having studied it before - you can't take it as an A Level at my school) just because I'm v v interested in it. Does anyone have any suggestions for books to read for someone in my position? Thank you!
kpa126
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by emmawalker66)
Thinking about potentially taking Philosophy at uni (despite never having studied it before - you can't take it as an A Level at my school) just because I'm v v interested in it. Does anyone have any suggestions for books to read for someone in my position? Thank you!
Hi! I am currently studying religious studies (..so part philosophy) as an A Level and absolutely love it! I have applied to do philosophy as a degree too for this year, and can assure you you will not need to worry about missing out on A-Level knowledge! - a lot of it is of no relevance / will not 'help' you in the degree. Within philosophy I think it would be good to just get a general vibe of what Philosophy really entails and where it originated. There are some great videos on philosophy and the main questions in it on Youtube - CrashCourse. They have a whole section of videos on philosophy which should give you a good background to it

In terms of books, some can be quite long, but I would look up some passages from Plato's republic or even some political philosophy like ideas from John Stewart Mill. Famous philosophers that tend to be covered in syllabi range from Kant, Marx, Mill and Hume. Just do some broad reading online or through forums where people debate philosophical problems, I wouldn't worry about reading any long winded books unless you are prepared to do so.

Hope you get some new ideas from this!
Katherine
emmawalker66
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
(Original post by kpa126)