Which Course to Choose. Watch

Rachf87
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello I am a mature student with a toddler. I am planning to enroll with the open university this year. I am applying for a credit transfer of one year of a social work degree from a long time ago.

My long term goal is to do a degree with the open university part time then when my little boy is in school i will do a Masters Degree in Social Work ( I have always wanted to get a masters degree). I would use the degree to pursue a career in social work but i am also interested in health and social care trainer roles, assessor roles and care management.

When i read the units that will be studied from a few different courses I get really excited about the Social Psychology course. I feel like I could easily spend 18 hours a week studying that. When I read the units in the Health and Social Care Degree I don't feel enthusiastic about studying. I know I may get more on a credit transfer for H&S Care but if I had to retake the whole thing to do social psychology I would do an open degree and just choose the social psychology units.

I am torn, I feel like H&S Care will help me work my way up sooner in health and social care in case I need a break before my MA but then I might not even end up needing the MA if I get in a good care management job. But I really want to do the social psychology degree. I dont feel like I could stay motivated to study from home in health and social care. I plan to study social work at a university as opposed to open university so that will keep me engaged during the social work masters. Plus I have studied before and I enjoyed it.

My heart says one thing and my head says another. Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,

Rachel
Rosco316
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago