All Cambridge PhD Students!! How well does your stipend cover you? Watch

Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi Everyone,

I am due to start my PhD this October at Cambridge on the minimum stipend of £14777 tax free working out at about 1200 per month.

For those currently living and studying in Cambridge, how well does this cover you? Do you have a-lot to spare or is it difficult (assuming you don't go crazy and buy a new TV every payday...)!

Thanks
gutenberg
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I finished my PhD at Cambridge just over a year ago, and lived on a similar stipend. I found I was able to live just fine: as you said, I couldn't go crazy, but I never struggled. I did however live in College-owned accommodation, which definitely helped keep the costs down compared with living in a private rental. I tended to mix cooking for myself with going to the College buttery, and while I did attend formal halls etc., I didn't do it all the time.
Cambridge usually has lots of different pots of money at both faculty and college level to help with costs such as attending conferences, research trips, and so forth, so that helps supplement the stipend at times when the costs might be higher.
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by gutenberg)
I finished my PhD at Cambridge just over a year ago, and lived on a similar stipend. I found I was able to live just fine: as you said, I couldn't go crazy, but I never struggled. I did however live in College-owned accommodation, which definitely helped keep the costs down compared with living in a private rental. I tended to mix cooking for myself with going to the College buttery, and while I did attend formal halls etc., I didn't do it all the time.
Cambridge usually has lots of different pots of money at both faculty and college level to help with costs such as attending conferences, research trips, and so forth, so that helps supplement the stipend at times when the costs might be higher.