The Student Room Group

Struggling to understand things

I just can't understand anything. I study Business, Law and Politics and every time i try and read the text, especially in Politics, nothing goes in my head. I don't take anything in and rather I just read the words without any meaning. It's unbelievably embarrassing when my teacher asks me to discuss what I've just read and I'm just sitting there thinking WTF is wrong with me and pretend I didn't read properly.

Although I know 100% i'm not dyslexic or anything, but from a young age I've always struggled taking in things straight away, I'd have to read it a couple of times to understand it, which wasn't very common but probably still normal, but now it's become a whole nother level!

The worst thing is It's not just when i'm studying my subjects, but even when i'm trying to understand a video (yes a video, something as simple as that) it just goes in one ear and comes out of the other. I feel so embarrassed and utterly useless. I honestly think I've become retarded.
you're not a retard by definition, trust me. I can tell by your typing that you're not a protoplasmic slime.

So you're saying if you watch a film you don't understand it?
It might just be to do with a few different factors... how much sleep do you get usually?? how much time do spend on your phone a day usually ???
Your memory is just ****
Try being me , I don’t know half the words of the English language smh! My sister said that to me once and it’s true.
Reply 4
Original post by Anonymous
I just can't understand anything. I study Business, Law and Politics and every time i try and read the text, especially in Politics, nothing goes in my head. I don't take anything in and rather I just read the words without any meaning. It's unbelievably embarrassing when my teacher asks me to discuss what I've just read and I'm just sitting there thinking WTF is wrong with me and pretend I didn't read properly.