humanteaparty
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
How would you rank these 2 in terms of prestige for economics? Not interested in a career in IB but potentially one in finance.
Thanks in advance!
PenguinEmperor
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Eh I don't really bother with prestige, you will likely succeed based on the effort you put in equally at both universities. However if it helps I can provide a summary of what my first year and a bit of 2nd year of economics at Loughborough has been like

Hey, I am a second year Economics student at Loughborough, I'll include a summary of the first year of the course I've posted before . Also please note the experiences I had in my first year are just mine and the lecturers may change / the course change as the university is always looking at ways to improve.

For Pure Economics you will do:
Microeconomics (20 credits)
Macroeconomics (20 Credits)
Quantitative Economics (20 Credits)
Data Analysis I (10 Credits)
Data Analysis II (10 Credits)
Skills for Study and Employment (10 Credits)
Then you have 30 credits of optional modules (I Picked Introduction to Sociology, Introduction to Democratic Government and Political Ideologies)

Macro - It is a very big change from A levels, Lecturers are nice people, not always the easiest to understand when going through some things quickly but you as a University student are expected to go into further reading and revise everything there anyway

Macro 2nd Year - From what I've done so far I can say it becomes quite mathematical, with your work requiring greater deal of statistical evidence.

Micro - Very similar to A Level with just a few new topics in first year.