What is GCSE music like? year 9 picking GCSEs

Watch
soccer827
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm picking my GCSEs and for me able to do music tec when I'm older I'm gonna have to do GCSE music. I am using DJing for my 60% coursework but I am gonna be the first student in my school to be using DJing. so obviously my school won't have any studios so I will be using my DJ school's equipment. I am not exactly sure if I am going to enjoy it since my teacher explained to me that we would be learning other genres like classical etc. I know its good to explore other genres but from a student that did music GCSE what is it like?

and sorry for the long text, I am not that good at getting to the point lol.
username2356659
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
You could try Music Technology if your school offers it. It's similar to Music but it's more synth-based, so might be for you if you're into DJ.
soccer827
Rep:
?
(Original post by KingCamembert)
You could try Music Technology if your school offers it. It's similar to Music but it's more synth-based, so might be for you if you're into DJ.
sadly my school doesn't offer it, if I cant find another way I guess I'm gonna be learning about classical which may be good for my DJing career, I dunno how but fingers crossed.
zarzie123
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Music GCSE does have classical music study in it but that's only a small part of it. You study loads of different genres that are all really different. I would say it's a good idea to pick it if you're wanting to do something musical in the future. It also gives you the option to take music A level if you like the GCSE
iWonTaekIt
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago